Tuesday, 5 August 2014

The Lawless Kind - Joe Hunter 9 - now available in paperback

Ex-counterterrorist soldier Joe Hunter has been called to Mexico to bring an end to a cartel that preys on the people they smuggle across the US border. Once the mission's ended, however, Joe's mission leader and mentor, CIA Black Ops director Walter Hayes Conrad, confesses that the bloody mission is not the real reason Joe has been summoned south of the border.

For years, Walter has kept the details of his private life - especially his family - secret from everyone, even his closest friends. But disaster has struck: his great-grandson Benjamin has been abducted, kidnapped by Walter's sworn enemy, the leader of one of Mexico's largest drug cartels. Walter will do whatever it takes to get the boy back. And he know Hunter is the man for the job.

But there's one complication -- the drug boss just happens to be Benjamin's father.






Available now in paperback: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1444728784/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_Vlk4tb1V1704MBZ5

And Ebook/Kindle: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lawless-Kind-Hunter-Book-Nine-ebook/dp/B00DS9G2S4/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid=

Tuesday, 1 July 2014

Oops! My bad.

I was just flicking through reviews of my books on Amazon.com (as needy authors are wont to do occasionally) and came across the quote below from a disgruntled reader (who actually did enjoy the book). I'm not grumbling, each to their own opinion. But I am surprised at how much killing off a character impacted on him. He jokingly mentioned almost throwing his Kindle across the room because I wasn't there to beat up.

"This is a great book, but I purely hate author's screwing up good books and stories by killing off characters just for the he'll of it. I was a fan of Matt Hilton's books, but I am through with anything with his name on it from this day forward. Unfortunately, if you are reading this review, you'll have to read the book to see what I'm so upset about."

I think he was referring to Kate Piers in Slash and Burn. If only he knew that it was an editorial decision and not originally mine to kill off Kate he might not be as upset with me. Any way, if he does go back and read the following books, he will see how Kate's death became an important motivator for Joe in the subsequent books, so it was not a worthless "just for the hell of it" death after all. sadly, he's decided he's through with anything with my name on it, so he'll likely never know.

Wow. The power of books, eh?

Monday, 2 June 2014

NEW for US readers only. Joe Hunter: Instant Justice


JOE HUNTER: INSTANT JUSTICE and other action-packed tales

Because two different publishers on the opposite sides of the Atlantic owned the rights to publish the Joe Hunter books, there has been a disparity in the way in which the books have been made available to US readers and the rest of the world. Because of this US readers have been behind in receiving access to the books as and when they have been made available to the rest of the world, but I hope to rectify this soon. Also, US readers have missed out on some of the short stories featuring Joe Hunter that have been published elsewhere, and with this collection I make those stories available, having collected them here in one volume for the first time.
To explain: Six of the Best, Homecoming, Sand Dance, Instant Justice, UV Ray, and The Other Side of the Street, were all previously published by Hodder and Stoughton as an ebook exclusive collection of short Joe Hunter stories (Joe Hunter: Six of the Best). Hot Property was originally published in print in The Strand Magazine (Summer 2013 edition). One-Eighty and The Holly and the I.V. have both been published on-line, but this is the first time they have appeared in a collection and available in ebook format. I present the stories here in the original UK English spelling, grammar and punctuation.
I hope readers enjoy these collected short tales, either as tasters between the entire novels, or as additions to the world of Joe Hunter and Rink to complete their collections.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KPU0DUC/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_WBlJtb0W8WPN2




This collection is only available in The USA and the Philippines at this time.

Monday, 28 April 2014

Blood Bath

I'm an author, but I'm also a reader. I've mentioned before that both my writing and reading tastes span a few genres, and I'm never happier than when two genres collide. I love crime fiction with a slightly occult or supernatural tilt. Therefore I'm a huge fan of John Connolly's Charlie Parker series, and equally of Stephen Leather's Jack Nightingale series. I'm still a bit of a fan boy at heart, and recently I was approached by Stephen Leather and asked if I'd like to contribute to an anthology of short fiction he was putting together, featuring none other than his Jack Nightingale character. OK, so I jumped at the opportunity. Stephen showed me the cover image, and the title and let me loose to create my own story, which of course I did. The anthology is now available in ebook format (all major platforms), and alongside my story are others by Alex Shaw, Andrew Peters, Conrad Jones, Lynette Waterman, Robert Waterman, and of course Nightingale's creator himself, Stephen Leather. Check it out: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00JYHM36Y/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_-6Ixtb166TMZE


Saturday, 26 April 2014

THE DAY is coming soon.

http://youtu.be/XmQq8ON4buk

THE DAY - teaser trailer.

This is the teaser trailer for the upcoming movie from Third Act Montage based upon my short story 'The Day'. Check it out. I love it and can't wait to see the finished movie.




Thursday, 24 April 2014

Guest Blog: Mason Cross


For fans of Lee Child and James Patterson, THE KILLING SEASON is a fast-paced American thriller with a central character who could give Jack Reacher, Alex Cross and Jason Bourne a run for their money.
The first thing you should know about me is that my name is not Carter Blake.

That name no more belongs to me than the hotel room I was occupying when the call came in.
When Caleb Wardell, the infamous 'Chicago Sniper', escapes from death row two weeks before his execution, the FBI calls on the services of Carter Blake, a man with certain specialised talents whose skills lie in finding those who don't want to be found. A man to whom Wardell is no stranger.
Along with Elaine Banner, an ambitious special agent juggling life as a single mother with her increasingly high-flying career, Blake must track Wardell down as he cuts a swathe across America, apparently killing at random.
But Blake and Banner soon find themselves sidelined from the case. And as they try desperately to second guess a man who kills purely for the thrill of it, they uncover a hornets' nest of lies and corruption. Now Blake must break the rules and go head to head with the FBI if he is to stop Wardell and expose a deadly conspiracy that will rock the country.
Slick, fast-paced and assured, THE KILLING SEASON is the first novel in the gripping new Carter Blake series.
Biographical Notes 
Mason Cross was born in Glasgow in 1979. He studied English at the University of Stirling and currently works in the voluntary sector. He has written a number of short stories, including 'A Living', which was shortlisted for the Quick Reads GET BRITAIN READING AWARD. He lives in Glasgow with his wife and three children.
Mason Cross has created an enigmatic character in Carter Blake . . . The writing is taut, intelligent, oozes suspense . . . a highly impressive debut novel — Matt Hilton, author of the Joe Hunter thrillers

Wednesday, 5 March 2014