Thursday, 24 April 2014

Guest Blog: Mason Cross


For fans of Lee Child and James Patterson, THE KILLING SEASON is a fast-paced American thriller with a central character who could give Jack Reacher, Alex Cross and Jason Bourne a run for their money.
The first thing you should know about me is that my name is not Carter Blake.

That name no more belongs to me than the hotel room I was occupying when the call came in.
When Caleb Wardell, the infamous 'Chicago Sniper', escapes from death row two weeks before his execution, the FBI calls on the services of Carter Blake, a man with certain specialised talents whose skills lie in finding those who don't want to be found. A man to whom Wardell is no stranger.
Along with Elaine Banner, an ambitious special agent juggling life as a single mother with her increasingly high-flying career, Blake must track Wardell down as he cuts a swathe across America, apparently killing at random.
But Blake and Banner soon find themselves sidelined from the case. And as they try desperately to second guess a man who kills purely for the thrill of it, they uncover a hornets' nest of lies and corruption. Now Blake must break the rules and go head to head with the FBI if he is to stop Wardell and expose a deadly conspiracy that will rock the country.
Slick, fast-paced and assured, THE KILLING SEASON is the first novel in the gripping new Carter Blake series.
Biographical Notes 
Mason Cross was born in Glasgow in 1979. He studied English at the University of Stirling and currently works in the voluntary sector. He has written a number of short stories, including 'A Living', which was shortlisted for the Quick Reads GET BRITAIN READING AWARD. He lives in Glasgow with his wife and three children.
Mason Cross has created an enigmatic character in Carter Blake . . . The writing is taut, intelligent, oozes suspense . . . a highly impressive debut novel — Matt Hilton, author of the Joe Hunter thrillers

Wednesday, 5 March 2014

Monday, 3 March 2014

Aside from the Norm

I know most of my readers here are Joe Hunter fans - and I appreciate you all - but I'm now calling out to those with a wider reading range who also enjoy a supernatural thriller when the fancy takes them. I'm about to make available one of my previously unpublished novels and would appreciate your help in spreading the word.

It's called PRETERNATURAL.

It's a crime/mystery story with supernatural elements, and the kind of action you've come to expect from a Matt Hilton book.

I hope you enjoy it.

I'm releasing it in ebook format first, with a view to a paperback soon.

(Interested publishers can of course get in touch)


Friday, 21 February 2014

Something a little different...

PRETERNATURAL: Carter Bailey Book 1

A supernatural thriller from Matt Hilton - the best-selling author of 'Dead Men's Dust'.

One man, two minds. One is a killer, but is the other insane?

On the remote Connor's Island in the North Atlantic, archeologists unearthing an ancient viking settlement have loosed a curse upon the land. People are dying, and everyone is in fear of the Haugbonde and his monstrous servant, the Skeklar.

To catch a monster you must think like a monster. Carter Bailey is the unfortunate vessel of two spirits: his own and that of his dead brother ‘Cash’, a serial killer who murdered Carter’s wife and unborn child. Most people think Carter delusional, and he suspects they are most likely correct. Only one man, horror writer Paul Broom, believes that Carter is blessed with abilities bordering on the supernatural.

Is the curse true, is a creature out of legend killing the people of Conn, or is the murderer firmly entrenched in the real world? Which begs another question: is Carter Bailey as crazy as he thinks, or is he a man with astonishing powers and the ability to sniff out evil? Mad or blessed with powers, it doesn’t matter, it’s down to Carter - both hindered and helped by Cash - to end the Skeklar’s hellish reign of terror.

Available in Ebook March 2014




Friday, 17 January 2014

The Lawless Kind - Joe Hunter 9

The Lawless Kind - Joe Hunter 9 - will be on general sale in hardback and ebook formats from 30th January 2014. Yep, less than a fortnight. Thanks to all my readers who have followed the series and are eagerly awaiting Hunter's latest outing. Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did writing it.

Monday, 9 December 2013

Why Santa doesn't Shave Off His Beard - The PROOF!

To all my readers, friends and family I wish you all a very happy Christmas and prosperous new year. (Why Santa doesn't shave off his beard - The proof!)

My 2013 in review

http://elementaryvwatson.wordpress.com/2013/12/06/matt-hilton-reviews-his-2013/

My 2013 in review can be found over at Vic Watson's blog by following the link above.